Web Browser Tips & Tricks

In this article

We cover various web browser tips and tricks for PCs, including: full screen mode, restoring closed tabs, separating tabs, reconnecting tabs, and clearing browser data.  Please select your preferred web browser to learn more:


Google Chrome

Full Screen Mode

Either press F11 on your keyboard or select the following:

Press F11 again to exit full screen mode.

Restore Closed Tabs

Sometimes you might accidentally close a tab that you meant to keep visible.  Restore a closed tab by either pressing CTRL + SHIFT + T or right-click on the remaining open tab and select Reopen closed tab.  If you need to restore several tabs, continue pressing the keyboard shortcut or selecting Reopen closed tab until you see the tab that you want.  It will restore the tabs in the order in which they were closed.

Separate Tabs

You may want to have one web browser tab open on one monitor and one open on another, but the tabs are currently connected in the same web browser session (e.g., Virtual Server on one monitor and online banking on the other monitor).  Separate any Google Chrome tab into its own window by left clicking and holding the tab, and pulling down until the tab appears in its own window.  Release the mouse.  As you pull the tab apart, it will look like the following:

Reconnect Tabs

When you're ready to reconnect your Google Chrome tabs, you can left click, hold, and drag one of the tabs toward the other tab.  Google Chrome will recognize what you're doing and temporarily combine the tabs into the same window again.  If you're satisfied with the placement of the tab, you can release the mouse.  You can also continue to hold the mouse until you have placed the tab where you want it within the list of tabs, and then release the mouse.

Clear Browser Data

Sometimes when we make updates to the server, the updates will not be displayed unless you clear your cached images, files, and cookies from your browser.

Press Ctrl + H on your keyboard or select the following:

A new window will open where you can select the following in the top left corner:

Select the time range of how far back you want to delete data (results may vary), then check the boxes for what you want to delete.  Select Cached images and files and Cookies and other site data and then select Clear Data.

Return to top of page


Internet Explorer

Full Screen Mode

Either press  F11 on your keyboard, or select the following:

Press  F11 again to exit full screen mode.

Restore Closed Tabs

Sometimes you might accidentally close a tab that you meant to keep visible.  Restore a closed tab by either pressing   CTRL + SHIFT + T or right-click on the remaining open tab and select Reopen Closed Tab.  If you need to restore several tabs, continue pressing the keyboard shortcut or selecting Reopen Closed Tab until you see the tab that you want.  It will restore the tabs in the order in which they were closed.

Separate Tabs

You may want to have one web browser tab open on one monitor and one open on another, but the tabs are currently connected in the same web browser session (e.g., Virtual Server on one monitor and online banking on the other monitor).  Separate any Internet Explorer tab into its own window by left clicking and holding the tab, and pulling down until the tab appears in its own window.  Release the mouse.  As you pull the tab apart, it will look like the following:

Reconnect Tabs

When you're ready to reconnect your Internet Explorer tabs, you can left click, hold, and drag one of the tabs toward the other tab.  Internet Explorer will recognize what you're doing and temporarily combine the tabs into the same window again.  If you're satisfied with the placement of the tab, you can release the mouse.  You can also continue to hold the mouse until you have placed the tab where you want it within the list of tabs, and then release the mouse.

Clear Browser Data

Sometimes when we make updates to the server, the updates will not be displayed unless you clear your cached images, files, and cookies from your browser.

Press  Ctrl + Shift + Delete on your keyboard or select the following:

A new window will open where you can select check the boxes for what you want to delete.  Check Temporary Internet files and website files, Cookies and website data, and uncheck Preserve Favorites website data and then select Delete.

Return to top of page

Mozilla Firefox

Full Screen Mode

Either press  F11 on your keyboard, or select the following:

Press F11 again to exit full screen mode.

Restore Closed Tabs

Sometimes you might accidentally close a tab that you meant to keep visible.  Restore a closed tab by either pressing  CTRL + SHIFT + T or right-click on the remaining open tab and select Undo Close Tab.  If you need to restore several tabs, continue pressing the keyboard shortcut or selecting Undo Close Tab until you see the tab that you want.  It will restore the tabs in the order in which they were closed.

Separate Tabs

You may want to have one web browser tab open on one monitor and one open on another, but the tabs are currently connected in the same web browser session (e.g., Virtual Server on one monitor and online banking on the other monitor).  Separate any Mozilla Firefox tab into its own window by left clicking and holding the tab, and pulling down until the tab appears in its own window.  Release the mouse.  As you pull the tab apart, it will look like the following (notice the semi-transparent window that was separated):

Reconnect Tabs

When you're ready to reconnect your Mozilla Firefox tabs, you can left click, hold, and drag one of the tabs toward the other tab.  Mozilla Firefox will recognize what you're doing and show a small arrow indicating where it will place the tab.  If you're satisfied with the placement of the tab, you can release the mouse.  You can also continue to hold the mouse until you have placed the tab where you want it within the list of tabs, and then release the mouse.

Clear Browser Data

Sometimes when we make updates to the server, the updates will not be displayed unless you clear your cached images, files, and cookies from your browser.

Select the following:

A new window will open where you can select the time range of how far back you want to delete data (results may vary), then check the boxes for what you want to delete.  Select  Cache and Cookies and then select Clear Now.

Return to top of page


Opera

Full Screen Mode

Either press  F11 on your keyboard, or select the following:

Press F11 again to exit full screen mode.

Restore Closed Tabs

Sometimes you might accidentally close a tab that you meant to keep visible.  Restore a closed tab by either pressing  CTRL + SHIFT + T or right-click on the remaining open tab and select Reopen last closed tab.  If you need to restore several tabs, continue pressing the keyboard shortcut or selecting Reopen last closed tab until you see the tab that you want.  It will restore the tabs in the order in which they were closed.

Separate Tabs

You may want to have one web browser tab open on one monitor and one open on another, but the tabs are currently connected in the same web browser session (e.g., Virtual Server on one monitor and online banking on the other monitor).  Separate any Opera tab into its own window by left clicking and holding the tab, and pulling down until the tab appears in its own window.  Release the mouse.  As you pull the tab apart, it will look like the following (notice the semi-transparent window that was separated):

Reconnect Tabs

When you're ready to reconnect your Opera tabs, you can left click, hold, and drag one of the tabs toward the other tab.  Opera will recognize what you're doing and temporarily combine the tabs into the same window again.  If you're satisfied with the placement of the tab, you can release the mouse.  You can also continue to hold the mouse until you have placed the tab where you want it within the list of tabs, and then release the mouse.

Clear Browser Data

Sometimes when we make updates to the server, the updates will not be displayed unless you clear your cached images, files, and cookies from your browser.

Select the following:

A new window will open where you can select the following in the top right corner:

Select the time range of how far back you want to delete data (results may vary), then check the boxes for what you want to delete.  Select Cached images and files and Cookies and other site data and then select Clear browsing data.

Return to top of page

Did that address your question? If not, Contact Us Contact Us